55th annual Jacksonville Men’s Amateur Golf Championship July 28-30


The 55th annual Jacksonville Men’s Amateur Golf Championship begins Thursday, with 69 players scheduled to vie for the title through Saturday (July 28-30) at Queen’s Harbour Yacht & Country Club.

For the first time, the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) will recognize the Jacksonville Amateur Championship by awarding points to its top finishers.

Notables in the field include:

Former Jacksonville Amateur Championship winners Mike Bodney (1990), Ken Moody (2004), David Anthony (2006) and Duke Butler IV (2009)

2016 JAGA Senior Championship winner John Lobb

2016 JAGA Match Play Championship winner Michael Smith

2016 Underwood Cup Amateur Team members Matthew Salane, Smith, Lobb, Anthony and Moody

Jacksonville University golf team members Zachary Alligood and Sam Uhland

University of North Florida golf team members Jordan Batchelor and Jack Comstock

Former PGA TOUR member Mike Bodney

Former Jacksonville Jaguar Josh Scobee

A total of 27 players in the field have handicap index figures of 0 or less, with another seven ranging between 0.1 and 1.

With the JAGA tournament committee granting limited entries from players who reside outside JAGA’s north Florida/South Georgia region, the field also includes golfers who are members of the University of Central Florida (Jalen Ledger/Palm Beach Gardens), Kansas University (Brock Drogosch/Windermere) and the University of the Pacific (Josh Rippert/Palm Beach Gardens).

A link to groupings and tee times for Thursday’s first round is available on the home page of www.jaxareagolf.org. Tee times will run from 8 to 10 a.m. all three days.

Queen’s Harbour Yacht & Country Club is located on Atlantic Boulevard, between San Pablo and Hodges boulevards in Jacksonville.

The Championship is open to the public all three days and for the first time in the history of the Championship JAGA will provide online scoring updates at jaga.leaderboardking.com.

The championship, which is conducted by the Jacksonville Area Golf Association (JAGA), has been played every year since 1962.