Chamber of Commerce gives out 2017 Business Leadership Awards


The St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce has recognized several members of St. Johns County’s business elite for their participation in strengthening the local business community.

Cecile Browning Nusbaum, of Old City Web Services, was named the Chamber Member of the Year. Browning Nusbaum was recognized for her efforts in the wake of hurricanes Matthew and Irma and for her leadership of the Chamber’s Historic St. Augustine Area Council, which serves downtown businesses.

“Immediately after Hurricane Matthew (Browning Nusbaum) went door-to-door to help us assess the damage, and to talk with business owners about what they need,” said Isabelle Rodriguez, Chamber president and CEO.

In response to what people needed, she and her staff created the Shop St. Augustine Campaign to help get customers back into downtown businesses. In addition, Rodriguez said the Chamber council she leads consistently educates the downtown businesses about the issues that are relevant in their area.

"Any recognition she receives including this one is well-earned,” said Rodriguez.     

Jason Barrett, of Flagler Hospital, was named the Fred Schroeder Economic Development Council (EDC) Member of the Year. He received the award for his role on the EDC Council and for his leadership of the Public Policy Committee. Victor Raymos, who chaired the EDC during the last fiscal year, said Barrett’s focus on long-term success and his ability to collaborate have been integral for the Chamber’s EDC at an important time.

“Flagler Hospital is a great community partner,” said Raymos. “After working with (Barrett) for the past year, I suspect that is a reflection of their leadership and staff, and there is no better example of that than (Barrett).”

Michael Scine, of Scine & Scine CPAs, received the President’s Award in honor of his service to the Chamber’s business-focused mission. Scine’s work with staff and his service to several committees earned him his place in the awards ceremony, according to Rodriguez. Scine, a former Chamber chair whose first leadership position in the Chamber was as a ribbon cutting coordinator in the Ambassador Program, has served in many different capacities.

Marty Lewis, of Money Pages, was given the Gene Morse Ambassador of the Year Award for the sixth time in his more than 15 years serving as an ambassador. Lewis has twice served as the ribbon cutting ceremony coordinator and is currently the ambassador chair while serving on the Chamber’s board of directors.

Matt Price, of Regions Bank, received the Grace Hayes Ambassador of the Year Award. Cathy Johnston, the Chamber board of directors immediate past chair during Branded 2017, said Price exemplifies professionalism and is a great example of a team player.