Mary O’Brien to chair St. Johns County Chamber board of directors


The Board of Directors of the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce will be led by Chair Mary O’Brien of Keen, LLC, during the 2017-18 fiscal year.

Joining the executive team on the board of directors will be Dirk Schroeder of Century 21 St. Augustine Properties as vice-chair; Dr. Erika Hamer of Ponte Vedra Wellness Center as treasurer; and Mark Nighbor of Advanced Disposal as secretary. Cathy Johnston of Haven Hospice is the immediate past chair. Rob Matthews of Matthews Design Group will serve as an ex-officio member of the executive board because of his role as the chair of the Economic Development Council, as will the president and CEO of the Chamber, Isabelle Rodriguez. Elected directors of the board include: Todd Batenhorst, Flagler Family Medicine; Tony Bernados, St. Augustine Record; Dave Chatterton, Old Town Trolley Tours; Micah Clukey, Kresage, Platt & Abare; Arleen Dennison, First Coast Technical College; John Dickinson, Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete, LLP; Pat Kane, Pop-A-Lock of St. Augustine; Skip Marsh, Flagler Hospital; Barry McDonald, Sawgrass Country Club; Beth Sweeny, St. Johns County School District; and Scott Thomas, Rogers Towers, P.A.

Joining the board due to their positions as council chairs are: Marge Cirillo, Small Business Council, Small Business Development Center; Kathy Fleming, Tourism & Hospitality Council, St. Augustine Lighthouse; Scott Graddy, Agriculture and Environmental Council, Ag-Tastic Solutions LLC; Stephen Hudson, North Business Council, Digital Mark Company, LLC; Marty Lewis, Ambassadors, Money Pages, Inc.; Cecile Nusbaum, Historic Downtown St. Augustine Council, Old City Web Services, Inc; and Berta Odom, South Beaches Council, RE/MAX 100 Realty. Also joining the board because of her capacity as the chair of the Ponte Vedra Beach Division Board is Susan Griffin of the Ponte Vedra Recorder.

“I am thrilled to be surrounded by this energetic, enthusiastic and - most of all - talented group of civic leaders,” Rodriguez said. “Their expertise is extremely valuable to our organization. Each board member brings knowledge that will help propel the Chamber to set and achieve new goals.”

Each of the elected board members’ terms are three years, and the Chamber’s fiscal year begins on the first day of each October and ends on the last day of every September.