2015 Auto Show recap: 1971 Mercedes wins “Best in Show”


The TPC Sawgrass Clubhouse was the setting for the 2015 Ponte Vedra Auto Show, held Sept. 12.

A total of 180 cars were represented, with awards given out in more than 30 categories. Don Fort’s 1971 Mercedes Benz 3.5 Cabriolet was chosen as “Best in Show.” Other “best of” categories included Best Hot Rod Replica, Best Exotic, Best New Pony Car, Best Corvette and Best Muscle Car.

The 2015 Ponte Vedra Auto Show celebrated the 20th anniversary of the Porsche 992 and the anniversary of the ZR1 Corvette. Vintage motorcycles were also on display in an exhibit spanning 100 years of the motorcycle.

2015 Winners of the Ponte Vedra Auto Show

Post War (Post-1945) Classic Domestic (presented by TPC Sawgrass) - 1954 Cadillac Eldorado, Ed Schenck & Cindy Johns

Most Outstanding Pony (NAPA Auto Parts) 70 AMC AMX - Steve Gers

Judges Favorite Pony Car (Ponte Vedra Wellness Center) 2013 Camaro ZR1 - Phill Modern

Judges Favorite American Muscle (SJC Tourist Development Council) 1969 Buick Gransport - Skip Burdette

Best Exotic (Sight & Sound Productions) 2011 599 GT Ferrari - Jorg BovberBest Hot Rod/Replica (Hilton Garden Inn of Ponte Vedra) 1928 Ford A - Chris Powell

Most Outstanding Corvette (Vystar Credit Union) 1958 Chevrolet Covette - Ronnie & Pam Edge

Judges Favorite Corvette (Garage Living) 1967 Chevrolet Covette - Paul Beckman

Most Outstanding Mustang (Shapiro Insurance Group) 2012 Ford Mustang Boss 302 Laguna Sega - Donald Nixon

Judges Favorite Mustang (Web.com Tour Championship) 2007 Ford Mustang Shelby GTH - Paul AssaroMost Original Barn Find (Ponte Vedra Auto Show Judges) 1964 Studabaker Lark - Jacob AguilerFlorida Crown Region Porsche Future Classic (Florida Crown Region) 2015 Porsche 911 Turbo, Bill Burchette

Brumos Mercedes-Benz Future Classic (Brumos Mercedes-Benz) 2016 Mercedes Benz AMG GTS Edition 1 of 380 - Jerry Swan

Future Classic - Best New Pony Car (The Florida Times-Union) 2010 Chevy Camaro - Mark HonadleFuture Classic - Best New Corvette (The Ponte Vedra Recorder) 2010 Chevrolet Covette ZR1 - Simon Gregg

Future Classic - Best New Muscle Car (Deltran Battery Tender) 2014 Chevrolet Corvette - Fred Porter

Chambers Choice Award (St. Johns County Chamber) 2012 Ford Mustang Boss 302 - Laguna Seca - Eddie Creamer

Most Outrageous Interior (Victory Casino Cruises) 1966 Volkswagen 21 Window Ragtop - Gary CrullMost Incredible Exterior (Clean Getaway Car Wash & Detail) 1947 Cadillac Convertible - Sam DeFrancoRacecar Award (Central Florida Reeper) 1969 Lynx Formula Vee - Tom Bungay

Judges Entry Trophy (Ponte Vedra Beach Division ) Ferrari Challenge Stradale - Mike FerranMost Outstanding American Muscle (National Parts Depot) 1969 1/2 Dodge Coronet Super Bee A12 - Dave Abernathy

Brass & Vintage (Pre-1945) 1st Place (Berry & Co. Real Estate) 1928 Marmon - Bob Elkins

Post War (Post-1945) Classic Euro (Amelia Island Concours d'Elegance) 1974 TR-6 - Michael SopoligaFlorida Crown Region Porsche Heritage Trophy (Florida Crown Region) 1973 911 E Targa - David Glenn

King of the Hill Heritage Award (Purcell Flanagan Hay Greene, P.A.) 1991 Chevrolet Covette ZR1 - Ray Shaffer

King of the Hill Heritage Award (Ferran Automotive) 2015 Corvette z-06 Convertible - Ken Bryan

Brumos Porsche 993 20th Anniversary (Brumos Porsche) 1996 Porsche 911 Turbo - Edwin Martin

Brumos Lexus Pursuit of Perfection Trophy (Best in Show Newer Than 20 Years) (Brumos Lexus) 2005 Mercedes Benz SL55 AMG - Geene & Chris Gorman

Janney Trusted Advisors Best in Show Classic (Janney Montgomery Scott, LLC) 1971 Mercedes Benz 3.5 Cabriolet - Don Fort