Bolles students win Scholastic Art Awards


A group of 34 Bolles students won a total of 54 awards in the recent Northeast Florida Scholastic Art Awards competition, with 12 of the artworks selected to continue on to the prestigious National Scholastic Art Awards.

There were 12 gold key winners, 14 silver winners and 28 honorable mention awards from Bolles. An awards ceremony was held Feb. 4 at 10 a.m. at the Florida Theatre, followed by award exhibition at the Jacksonville Main Branch Library, where the Gold Key works were displayed. Silver Key and Honorable Mention works were on digital display and at the Heather Moore Community Gallery at the Cathedral Arts Project Inc. Offices on North Laura Street.

 Bolles artists who received a gold, silver or honorable mention award include XiaoXian (Lucy) Qu, Gold and Honorable Mention; Will Skinner, Gold; Yang (Angela) Sun, Gold; Kayla Fender, Silver; Jiayin Li, Silver and Honorable Mention; Ziyi Zhang, Two Silver, Honorable Mention; Emily Fender, Honorable Mention; Devon Haskell, Two Honorable Mentions; Tyler Wang, Gold and Silver and Honorable Mention;Alexandra Bishop, 10 Honorable Mention and two Silver; Marlo Morales, two Honorable Mentions; Pam Sun, Two Golds; Tommy Ropp, Silver; Maya Cooper, Honorable Mention; Mikail (Mesha) Lachapelle, Honorable Mention; Vivian Moritz, Honorable Mention; Serena Scalcione, Two Honorable Mention; Duncan Evans, Gold; Alex Hastings, Gold; Dominicque Pacella, Gold; Kiera Geraghty, Silver; Salma Shaalan, Silver; Ananta Arora, Honorable Mention; Lewis Culver, Honorable Mention; Gabriela Landolfo, Honorable Mention; Claudette Bryan, Silver; Desi Hambrock, One Gold, Two Silvers, Honorable Mention; elen Milazzo, Gold; Annie Thanner, Gold; Alexis Andrews, Silver; and Brooke Bowmaster, Honorable Mention.

The Northeast Florida Art Association’s Scholastic Art awards is a blind adjudication competition during which works are juried by teams of art professionals, college professors and executive art directors. More than 1,700 quality works were entered and fewer than 400 pieces were selected for awards.