Evacuation re-entry passes now available from county tax collector


Free evacuation re-entry passes are now available for local residents and businesses from the St. Johns County Tax Collector’s office.

In the event of an evacuation of all barrier islands, only those with official re-entry passes will be allowed back after an evacuation.

“Residents and owners of businesses located east of any bridge in St. Johns County – especially those who have been in Florida less than 10 years – need to act now before the hurricane season picks up,” St. Johns County Tax Collector Dennis Hollingsworth said.

The tags are designed to hang from the rearview mirror in a vehicle, allowing law enforcement personnel to easily identify who is permitted onto the island after an evacuation. Green tags are for residential owners, and orange tags are for business owners.

Residents may receive one green tag for each registered vehicle, while businesses may receive two entry tags per business. The tags do not expire, so residents and business owners are encouraged to keep them in a secure place.

Re-entry passes are available at all locations of the St. Johns County Tax Collector during regular business hours. Residents should be prepared to show proof of residency – such as a driver’s license or ID card, utility bill or vehicle registration – or a local business tax receipt.

For more information, visit www.sjctax.us, call (904) 209-2250, or stop by the office of the St. Johns County Tax Collector.