Governor declares state of emergency


Gov. Rick Scott has declared a state of emergency in 42 Florida counties in preparation for Tropical Depression Nine. Among the counties included in the state of emergency are St. Johns, Duval and Clay counties.

“Last night, hurricane and tropical storm watches were issued along Florida’s Gulf Coast from Pasco County to Gulf County,” Scott said. “We also learned that the National Hurricane Center expects Tropical Depression Nine to become a Tropical Storm sometime today. It is crucial that every Floridian has a plan in place to ensure their families, homes and businesses are fully prepared.”

Residents can make their own plan, Scott said, by visiting

“I have been closely monitoring this storm’s development and our emergency management officials have been working hard to make sure we are ready to respond to any potential impacts,” Scott said. “By declaring a state of emergency in advance of this storm, we are ensuring that state, regional and local agencies can work together to meet the needs of our communities. We will continue to do all we can to keep our families and visitors safe and informed as this storm approaches our state.”