MSD Board reminds community of upcoming elections


The Ponte Vedra Beach Municipal Service District (MSD) Board of Trustees reminded attendees of its meeting Monday, June 11 at the Ponte Vedra Library that St. Johns County will hold elections this year for MSD seats 1, 3, 5 and 7.

According to the St. Johns County Supervisor of Elections website, current Board Chairman Gary Jurenovich is the only candidate for seat 1. Gordon Blalock and Mack McCuller have filed for seat 3, and Alva A. Hollon Jr. and Holly Kartsonis are currently uncontested for seats 5 and 7, respectively. Current Board Treasurer John Wegl and Trustees Murle Harrison and Greg Wong now hold seats 3, 5 and 7 respectively and have not filed for reelection.

The term for an MSD board member is four years, and the candidate must be a resident of the MSD. In general, MSD Board members meet once a month to provide management and oversight of safety, traffic, municipal services, beautification and other areas that impact the MSD community and the well-being of its residents. Learn more by visiting the St. Johns County Supervisor of Elections website at or by calling (904) 823-2238. The deadline for candidate filing is noon on Friday, June 22.


Other items of interest

In other MSD news, Wegl said FDOT will soon be conducting a speed survey on the stretch of A1A from Mickler Road to the GTM Reserve to consider decreasing the speed limit there.

In addition, Jurenovich suggested the board work with the community to develop a “MSD Vision” that outlines goals and projects for the next five, 10 and 20 years.

The MSD Board concluded the meeting by engaging in preliminary budget discussions for fiscal year 2018-19, which will continue at the next meeting on Monday, July 9 when the trustees set the millage rate.