Nease High School inducts students into Rho Kappa Honor Society


Twenty students were inducted into the Nease High School chapter of the Rho Kappa National Social Studies Honor Society last week.

In a ceremony held Dec. 5 in the school’s media center, chapter officers Gabrielle Tinny, Tanvi Padalkar, Aislinn Harnett and Mannat Thakur formally inducted the students into the honor society, lighting candles symbolizing truth, knowledge, wisdom and service.

Teacher and chapter advisor Jerry Lanford said the Rho Kappa National Social Studies Honor Society recognizes student excellence in a variety of academic disciplines that fall under the umbrella of social studies, including history, geography, government, economics and psychology.

“It incorporates all these disciplines that show us where we’ve been and where we’re going,” Lanford told attendees. “Participation (in Rho Kappa) creates our future leaders, and that’s who these guys are.”

Nease students inducted into the honor society included Jesse Gatewood (Grade 11), Kerry Simpson (12), Katharine Logue (11), Marc Moreira (11), Timothy Tomkunus (11), Lena Caramagno (11), Gerald Huang (11), Jonathan Valyou (11), Tyler Lingor (11), Ashton Wood (11), Jacob Hunt (11), Mack Davis (11), Hiba Aslam (11), Sierra Vidales (11), Julia (Jules) Maddalena (11), Hunter VanScoy (11), Paige Hopper (11), Chris McDonough (11), Tiffany Nyugen (11) and Asha Jama (12).