Rutherford joins other Florida members of Congress to reintroduce school safety legislation


U.S. Reps. John Rutherford, Mario Diaz-Balart, Ted Deutch and Stephanie Murphy have reintroduced the Luke and Alex School Safety Act, the House companion to a Senate bill introduced by Sens. Ron Johnson, Marco Rubio and Rick Scott.

This legislation would codify into law a federal clearinghouse that categorizes, assesses and shares best practices for school safety measures and identifies the resources necessary to implement them.

The Luke and Alex School Safety Act honors Luke Hoyer, Alex Schachter and the 15 others who died in the 2018 shootings at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida.

“Every child deserves to feel safe in school," said Rutherford. “For administrators, students, parents and local law enforcement to develop a robust school safety approach, they need easy access to the most accurate and up-to-date information on how to do so. The Luke and Alex School Safety Act will create a one-stop shop for the latest school safety research, best practices and grant opportunities and make them accessible to every school district across America.”

“I want to thank Congressmen Diaz-Balart, Deutch, Rutherford and Congresswoman Murphy for reintroducing The Luke and Alex School Safety Act,” said Max Schachter, Alex Schachter's father and founder and executive director of Safe Schools for Alex.

“We still find it hard to grasp that our son Luke was killed in a school, along with 16 other innocent souls,” said Tom and Gena Hoyer, Luke Hoyer’s parents. “This legislation will help protect our nation’s children and teachers while they are in school. We are deeply grateful to the members of the Florida delegation who have come together on this bill for school safety.”


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here