SJSO recognizes team members at annual Awards Banquet


St. Johns County Sheriff David Shoar recognized various members of the sheriff's office on Friday, April 27, at the agency's 34th annual Awards Banquet held at the World Golf Village Convention Center.

Cpl. Joshua Underwood received the Deputy Guy White Award for excelling in his position the entire year. This recognition is akin to deputy of the year and is named after the first known St. Johns County deputy who was killed in the line of duty.

SJSO established the Glen D. Cardwell Award this year, a new award given to a corrections deputy who has excelled in his/her position for the entire year. The first recipient of this award was Deputy Gerald Dalager.

Victoria Ogaga received the Captain Hazel McCormack Award, which is given to a civilian employee of the sheriff's office. The Neil J. Perry Leadership Award was presented to Sgt. Youvonna (Bonnie) Jimmerson. This award is named after the former St. Johns County Sheriff who served 20 years in the position.

Two awards were presented to the top rookies of corrections and law enforcement. Deputy Kenneth Mangold received the Joshua E. Blyler Award and corrections Deputy Chiquita Sailor received the Chris Dale Award.

The Top Shooter Award was presented to Daimin Figueroa-Batts. The Communications Operator of the Year Award was presented to Cpl. Heather Myers. Meanwhile, Hannah Stegal received the Explorer of the Year Award and Toni O’Connell received the Volunteer of the Year Award.

The final specialty award was the Abe Schneider Award, which was presented to civilians Vincent Garcia, Christine Mallatt, Bo Smith, Thomas Weidner, Justin Louque, Agelo Silva Del Oli and Chris Ellis. This award is given to a citizen(s) who has rendered aid or given assistance to a law enforcement officer or citizen.

The following individuals received the Exceptional Service Award, which is given to a deputy who rendered service involving exceptional courage and grave personal danger in saving or attempting to save a life, or in resolving safely an immediate life-threatening situation: Lt. Toby Erwin, Sgt. Andrew Stoinoff, Cpl. Todd Boger and Deputies Justin Ackerman, Kyle Cubbege, Blake Gruny and John Sprouse.

Presented with the Lifesaving Award, which is given to an employee who rendered aid in saving a life, were Sgt. Tony Matuse; Detectives Glen English, Thomas Evans, and Jeremy Goldman; Cpl. Coby Seckinger; and Deputies Sean Adams, Patrick Angst, Thomas Bickart, Neil Bronner, Craig Carson, Kenneth Carver, Lance Collins, Nathan Datsko, Christina Dobbs, Thomas Drake, Ian Dwyer, Samuel Hall, Brandon Hand, Kenneth Mangold, Melanie Merritt, Michael Milillo Jr., Ryan Small, Rachel Soles, Bray Taylor and Erin Winters. Also receiving the award was National Park Service Officer Anthony Vela.

The Meritorious Service Award is presented to an employee who in the line of duty through diligence, unusual thoroughness or perseverance has performed a difficult task, in which the aims of law enforcement were furthered. Those receiving that award included Lt. Kevin Cronin; Sgt. Kevin Kier; Detectives Alfred Della Porta Jr., Philip Graham and Matthew Thomas; Cpl. Jessica Hines; and Deputies Travis Coleman, Kenneth Mangold, Matthew Richmond and Stacci Sastre. Also receiving the award were Francescia Anderson, Alicia McWhorter and Sherryl Sessor.

The Sheriff’s Unit Award is presented to a unit, section or team that has performed their duties in an excellent manner throughout the year. This year, two units received the award, including the Special Victims Unit (SVU) and the Police Athletic League. Those accepting the award from SVU were Sgt. George Harrigan Jr.; Corporals Jennifer Burres, Dominic Russo and Sheldon York; and Detectives Joshua Buck, Spencer Craven, Glen English, Jeremy Goldman, Kevin Greene, Andrew Huskey, Cheyenne Kroul, Hank Miller, Cedric Mincey, Angelo Rosado and Edward Scoggins, along with Barbara Bowden and Doreen Taylor. Accepting the award from PAL were Jackson Taylor; Sgt. Sidney Mickler; Deputies Kelly Kemp, Kermit Kidder and Sheldon York, along with Dawn Fuentes, Mary F. Mangus-Courter and Adam Wanchick.

Shoar awarded several individuals outside of the agency for their leadership or for assisting law enforcement. Charles Shinholser and Ric Prado received the Sheriff’s Legacy Award. Dr. Steven Dingfelder and Chris Hampton of Sea Tow St. Augustine received the Community Partnership award for their efforts in advancing and assisting law enforcement.