Henrik Stenson and Ian Poulter commit to THE PLAYERS Championship 2018


THE PLAYERS Championship announced this week that THE PLAYERS 2009 champion Henrik Stenson and two-time runner-up Ian Poulter (2009, 2017) have committed to play in the 2018 tournament, contested at THE PLAYERS Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass May 8-13.

Stenson won THE PLAYERS in 2009 by four strokes over Poulter to earn his second PGA TOUR victory (he now has six) and become the first player from Sweden to hoist the Waterford Crystal trophy. Poulter, who recently notched his third PGA TOUR victory at the 2018 Houston Open, looks to become the first player from England to win THE PLAYERS.

In 12 total starts at THE PLAYERS, Stenson has made nine cuts with eight top-25s, including a T16 finish last year. In addition to his victory, the 2013 FedExCup Champion has posted three additional top-10s – T3 in 2006, T10 in 2008 and T5 in 2013.

In 14 previous appearances at THE PLAYERS, Poulter has missed only three cuts and has posted four top-25 and two top-10 finishes. His runner-up finish last year—where he played 30 consecutive holes without a bogey before the par-4 No. 12 in the final round—was one of two top-10 finishes of Poulter’s 2016-17 season.

Other players who have committed to THE PLAYERS Championship 2018 include Bubba Watson, Adam Scott, Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsuyama, Sergio Garcia, Martin Kaymer and Si Woo Kim.