Rep. Rutherford honors students nominated to service academies


Rep. John Rutherford (FL-4) recently announced the nomination of 47 students to be considered for appointments to the United States Air Force Academy, United States Naval Academy, United States Military Academy and United States Merchant Marine Academy.

According to the congressman’s office, each student completed a rigorous application process and underwent an interview with a panel of former military officers before being nominated to one of the nation’s service academies.

“Working with inspiring young men and women seeking appointments to one of our service academies is one of the greatest privileges I have as representative,” Rutherford said. “I am honored to nominate some of the most qualified future leaders from our district to these prestigious institutions. Attending a service academy brings a commitment to serve in the military, and these young people have volunteered for that solemn duty.

“As military leaders, these young people will address many of the challenges we face in today’s volatile world,” Rutherford added. “I thank each of them for their commitment to their fellow citizens and congratulate them for receiving nominations. I am tremendously proud to offer them unwavering support and look forward to watching the growth of these bright young leaders.”

Each year, thousands of students from across the country apply to attend the nation’s service academies. According to Rutherford’s office, students must undergo a two-step process to receive an appointment to any of the academies. They must apply for a nomination from the president, or a congressman or senator, and simultaneously complete the application criteria for admission to the academy. Students who receive both a nomination and are accepted to an academy receive an appointment to the institution.

Below are the names of the students recently nominated by Rutherford.


United States Air Force Academy

Henry Bergstol, Bartram Trail High School

Jon Beshara II, St. Augustine High School

Alicia Campbell, Creekside High School

Maria Canon, Bartram Trail High School

Isabella Horning, New Mexico Military Institute

Jonathon Kurian, Allen D. Nease High School

Scott Lovejoy, Lake Braddock High School

Constance Oswald, Allen D. Nease High School

Samuel Owens, University of South Florida

Isaac Quarterman, U.S. Air Force Prep School

Timothy Tillo Jr., Mandarin High School



United States Merchant Marine Academy

Michael Gillen, Duncan U. Fletcher High School

Nathan Grimley, Fernandina Beach High

Matthew Guckavan, Sancta Familia Academy

Noah Hamlett, Fleming Island High School

Zachariah Horne, Providence School

Connor Sidman, Bishop Kenny High School

Eric Skinner, St. Augustine High School

Savannah Taylor, Duncan U. Fletcher High School


United States Military Academy

Joshua Avera, Bishop Kenny High School

Maria Canon, Bartram Trail High School

Hannah Carolan, Stanton College Prep

Colin Gallo, The Episcopal School

James Irish, St. Johns River State College

Nicholas Jennis, Bartram Trail High School

Aunikah King, The Bolles School

Nikita Lachapelle, Norwich University

Craig Lavosky, Creekside High School

George Lewis, The Bolles School

Johnathon Magiske, University of North Florida

Lindsay Poulos, The Episcopal School

Andrew Ryan, University of Florida

Joseph Schulper, Ponte Vedra High School

Eric Skinner, St. Augustine High School

Duncan Van Kouteren, Ponte Vedra High School

Olivia Williamson, Florida Virtual School


United States Naval Academy

Alyssa Albano, Naples American School

John Bowers, The Bolles School

Hannah Carolan, Stanton College Prep

Alexander Flanagan, Douglas Anderson School of the Arts

Jesse Gatewood, IV, Allen D. Nease High School

Christopher Gilmer, Embry-Riddle University

Kenneth Harland, Home School

Amelia Root, Atlantic Coast High School

Savannah Taylor, Duncan U. Fletcher High School

Timothy Trillo Jr., Mandarin High School

Cali Vaughn, Auburn University