St. Augustine Commission recognizes Ponte Vedra senior with Citizenship Award


A Ponte Vedra High School student was among eight graduating seniors recognized May 24 by the St. Augustine City Commission for their leadership and service to school, community and other students.

Lucy Morfit received one of this year’s Citizenship Awards at a ceremony in The Alcazar Room of City Hall. She is a member of Link Crew, Feminist Club, Sand Sharks, Athletic Leadership Council, National English Society, National Honor Society and Rho Kappa National Honors Society.

A cross-country athlete, she has competed in track and field.

Morfit is also the recipient of the Blue Shark Award, Coaches’ Choice Award and the Hammerhead Shark Award.

She volunteers with jaxTHRIVE, Girls Empowered by Math and Science and the Woodson Warrior Scholarship Program.

She plans to attend Florida State University in the fall.

“One of the most rewarding experiences of graduation season is witnessing the youth of our community complete one stage of life and cross the threshold into another,” said St. Augustine Vice Mayor Nancy Sikes-Kline prior to bestowing the awards. “For our high school seniors, it is a time they have worked for … and most certainly looked forward to … for a long time. It is an honor for me, and the entire City Commission, to take a few moments to recognize some of the outstanding graduating seniors and to wish them well as they begin a new chapter of their lives.”

Each year, the city asks St. Johns County high schools to identify a graduating senior who has exemplified the characteristics of citizenship by their leadership and service to both school and community to receive the City Commission’s Citizenship Award.

The eight students chosen for the award received a commemorative plaque, a city lapel pin and $200 to help defray the cost of their continued education.

All but two schools submitted a candidate this year.

The other students who received the award were: Abigail Huber of Bartram Trail High School, Jacob Douberly of Creekside High School, Ja'Myra Harris of Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind, Peyton Gatlin of Pedro Menendez High School, Devon Philcox of St. Augustine High School, Seth Bowman of St. Johns Technical High School and Chiara Brambilla of St. Joseph Academy.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment