1970 Fiat 124 Coupe wins 2018 Auto Show

In the rearview: 2018 Ponte Vedra Auto Show


More than 170 classic and collectable automobiles were showcased in last year’s Ponte Vedra Auto Show.

Presented by the Fields Auto Group and hosted by the St. Johns County Chamber of Commerce, the annual event was overflowing with attendees, car enthusiasts and vendors, making it the largest auto show in the event’s history. The Best in Show Classic winner was awarded to Giancarlo Fruzzetti for his 1970 Fiat 124 Coupe, earning a perfect score of 100 points. This award was sponsored by Wells Fargo Advisors.

The Best in Show 60th Anniversary of Austin-Healey, sponsored by Meehan’s Irish Pub, was awarded to Bill Young, with his 1960 Austin-Healey Bugeye. Charles Cordes, with his 2012 Porsche B59, was awarded the Porsche Jacksonville “For the Spirit of It!” award, sponsored by Porsche of Jacksonville. Celebrity endurance racecar driver Hurley Haywood was also in attendance signing books and posing for photos with fans of all ages.


2018 Ponte Vedra Auto Show winners

Best in Show Classic - Giancarlo Fruzzetti, 1970 Fiat 124 Coupe

Fields Lexus “Pursuit of Perfection” - Bill Burchette, 2017 Acura NSX

Best in Show 60th Anniversary of Austin-Healey - Bill Young, 1960 Austin-Healey Bugeye

Best in Show 70th Anniversary Porsche - Alan Winer, 1959 Porsche 356A T2

Best in Show Off-Road - Chris Railing, 1945 Willys MB

Porsche Jacksonville “For the Spirit of it!” - Charles Cordes, 2012 Porsche B59

Florida Crown Region Porsche Heritage Trophy - John Lovejoy, Jr., 1959 Porsche Conv. D

Pre-War Classic - Michael Sisco, 1936 Dodge D2 Business Coupe

Post War Classic Domestic - George Breslin, 1953 Lincoln Capri

Post War Classic Euro - Dennis DuBois, 1966 VW Beetle

Most Outstanding Pony Car - Brandon Cipko, 1965 Ford Mustang GT Fastback

Judges Favorite Pony Car - Chris Baldwin, 1969 Chevy Camaro 228

Most Outstanding American Muscle - Matt Jones, 1986 Grand National

Judges Favorite American Muscle - Andy Musil, 1968 Pontiac GTO

Best Exotic - Randy Lindsey, 2004 360 Challenge Stradale

Custom Car Award - Roberto Cruz, 1972 VW Bus

Race Car Award - Mike Ferran, 1966 GT 40 MKIIB

Most Outstanding Corvette - Michael Lucas, 1967 Chevrolet Corvette

Judges Favorite Corvette - Ronnie and Pam Edge, 1958 Chevrolet Corvette

Most Outstanding Mustang - Tom and Peggy Gilliland, 1967 Shelby Mustang GT 500

Judges Favorite Mustang - Jeffrey Lowcher, 1969 Ford Mustang, Mach 1

Most Original/Barn Find Award - Kerry Hunter, 1967 Corvette

Best Classic Off-Road - Jon P. Boyton, 1963 Meyers Manx Dune Buggy

Florida Crown Region Future Classic Porsche - Russell Stapleton, 1968 Porsche 944 Turbo

Future Classic Award Euro - Graziano Fruzzetti, 2003 Ferrari 360 Spyder

Future Classic – Best New Pony Car - David Grooms, 2017 Ford Shelby GT350R

Future Classic – Best New Muscle Car - Fernando Quintana, 2018 Dodge Hellcat

Future Classic – Best New Corvette - Sue Norton, 2018 Corvette Grand Sport

Future Classic – Best New Off- Road - Chuck Newman,2003 Stewart Stevenson Light Military

Chambers Choice Award - Erik Olsen, 1963 Porsche 356B S-90


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment