JAGA recognizes 2019 scholarship recipients


The Jacksonville Area Golf Association officially recognized the 10 recipients of its scholarships for 2019 at a banquet held Thursday, June 13, at Queen’s Harbour Yacht & Country Club.

The nine Scholarship Trust college recipients for 2019 were:

■ Abigal Cobb, Jacksonville Golf & Country Club

■ John Fewell, Hyde Park Golf Club

■ Patrick Libby, Hidden Hills Country Club

■ Samantha Maguire, St. Johns Golf & Country Club

■ Cierra McKenzie, Timuquana Country Club

■ Leslie Moore, San Jose Country Club

■ Christopher Ryan, Deerwood Country Club

■ Todd Roy, Julington Creek

■ Sara Schneider, Sawgrass Country Club

Each recipient was awarded a $1,000 scholarship for each semester of the 2019-2020 school year. Scholarships are renewable each semester based on meeting certain criteria, including a minimum grade-point average.

An additional scholarship was awarded for the third time to a Level 2 PGA assistant professional from the Northern Chapter of the North Florida PGA who is fulfilling steps to secure his/her Class A certificate this year and has demonstrated a commitment to growing the game of golf through junior golf programs at his/her club. The recipient was Nicole Keyser of TPC Sawgrass. Keyser is from Cary, North Carolina, and played golf for Flagler College from 2011 to 2015.

Currently there are 25 scholars who are receiving $1,000 per semester, for a total of eight semesters from JAGA. Since the JAGA Scholarship Trust was formed in 1974, JAGA has awarded approximately $1.8 million to more than 375 deserving young students.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment