Wright, Stevens among seven to earn JAGA scholarships


Elliott Wright and Hannah Stevens were among seven high school seniors who earned scholarships from the Jacksonville Area Golf Association.

Wright, who plays at Sawgrass Country Club, and Stevens, who plays at TPC Sawgrass, will be given $1,000 for each semester of the 2020-2021 school year. Scholarships are renewable each semester based on meeting certain criteria, including a minimum grade-point average.

“For the 46th year, JAGA is proud to support these excellent young men and women through the Scholarship Trust program,” said Scholarship Trustee Ken Hicks of Deerwood Country Club. “We wish our recipients all the best as they enter a very exciting and important time in their lives. They follow in the footsteps of nearly 400 others who have come through the program and taken full advantage of it. On behalf of the JAGA Scholarship Trust, I extend a sincere thank you to JAGA member clubs and all those JAGA supporters who made so many valuable contributions over the course of the last year.”

Currently there are 27 scholars who are receiving $1,000 per semester, for a total of eight semesters from JAGA. Since the JAGA Scholarship Trust was formed in 1974, JAGA has awarded approximately $1.8 million to more than 375 deserving young students. The Trust is a 501 (c)(3) Not for Profit organization.

Current trustees of the Trust are Wayne St. Clair (Chairman/Jacksonville G&CC), Michael McKenny (Vice Chairman/Timuquana CC), Steve Booma (Secretary/The Plantation at Ponte Vedra), Allen Witham (Hidden Hills GC/Treasurer), Joe Grippi (Deerwood CC), John Tancredi (Marsh Landing CC) and Hicks.

Applicants for scholarships must be sons, daughters or grandchildren of a member of a JAGA member club or an employee of a member club who resides in JAGA’s North Florida region.

Wright went to Ponte Vedra High and will continue his education at Florida Atlantic University, while Stevens went to Fletcher High and will continue her education at Flagler College.

Other recipients include: Lacey Tucker of Atlantic Beach, Sam Harrell of Jacksonville Beach, Alex Calief and Donarld Branske, both of Jacksonville, and St. Augustine’s Apryl Parker.

2020 JAGA Scholarship Recipients (left to right) – Hannah Stevens, Apryl Parker, Alex Caliel, Sam Harrell and Elliott Wright.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment